Parham to lead MWCD Board of Directors in 2013

December 31, 2012

David L. Parham of the Atwood Lake area in Carroll County will lead the Board of Directors of the Muskingum Watershed Conservancy District (MWCD) in 2013.


Board members elected Parham as their president for next year and elected Richard J. Pryce of North Canton in Stark County as vice president during a recent meeting. Officers of the MWCD Board of Directors routinely serve one-year terms of leadership.


Parham will succeed William P. Boyle Jr. of the Charles Mill Lake area in Richland County as president. Originally appointed to the MWCD Board of Directors in 2006, Parham is in his second five-year term on the Board. The owner of a cottage on land at Atwood Lake leased from the MWCD, Parham previously was a member of the MWCD’s volunteer Development Advisory Committee (DAC) from 2002-06, serving as chair of the DAC in 2004.


Parham is a retired attorney from the law firm Thompson Hine LLP in Cleveland, and held numerous leadership positions in local, state and national bar associations, as well as serving as a former elected member of Shaker Heights City Council. A U.S. Air Force veteran who held the rank of captain, Parham is a graduate of Case Institute of Technology with a bachelor’s degree, holds a master’s degree from the University of Dayton and earned his law degree from the Case Western Reserve University School of Law.


Pryce also is in his second five-year term on the MWCD Board of Directors, receiving his original appointment in 2007 after a two-year stint on the DAC (2006-07). The retired president and chief executive officer of Aultman Health Foundation in Stark County with more than 20 years of service, Pryce previously worked for Arthur Anderson and Co. and was chief operating officer for St. John Hospital at Detroit.


A graduate of the University of Michigan and a former U.S. Navy officer, Pryce has served on numerous community and environmental improvement programs, including Citizens for a Better Stark County, Stark County Drainage Task Force, Governor’s Commission to Improve Teaching in Ohio, and was the chairman of the Ohio General Assembly’s Medicaid Administrative Study Council.


Other members of the MWCD Board of Directors are Boyle, Harry C. Horstman of Scio in Harrison County and Steve Kokovich of New Concord in Muskingum County. The five-member Board, appointed by the Conservancy Court to terms of five years with a limit of two consecutive terms of service, meets monthly in open session in accordance with the state’s public meeting laws. Meeting dates, locations and times routinely are posted on the MWCD’s website at


The MWCD, a political subdivision of the state, was organized in 1933 to develop and implement a plan to reduce flooding and conserve water for beneficial public uses in the Muskingum River Watershed, the largest wholly contained watershed in Ohio. Since their construction, the 16 reservoirs and dams in the MWCD region have been credited for saving more than $10 billion worth of potential property damage from flooding, according to the federal government, as well as providing popular recreational opportunities that bolster the region’s economy. A significant portion of the reservoirs are managed by the MWCD and the dams are managed for flood-risk management by the federal U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE).


For more information about the MWCD, visit and follow the MWCD on Facebook and Twitter.


### - END - ###

« Back to News