Crappie limits expand to include several MWCD lakes

March 8, 2010

Courtesy of the Ohio Department of Natural Resources' Division of  Wildlife:

COLUMBUS, OH – With spring just around the corner, crappie anglers are reminded that new size and bag limits went into effect on March 1, according to the Ohio Department of Natural Resources (ODNR), Division of Wildlife.
A total of 38 lakes were added to the six lakes that already had a 9-inch minimum size limit on crappies. A bag limit of 30 for crappies will also be in effect for all 44 lakes with a 9-inch size limit.
Alum Creek, Caesar Creek, Deer Creek, Seneca and Tappan lakes have had the 9-inch minimum regulations since 2001, with Delaware Reservoir having the limit since 1997. Catches from these lakes indicate the numbers of large crappies have increased and both black and white crappies have maintained good growth rates.
A 2008 on-line angler survey indicates 81 percent of crappie anglers favor the 9-inch length limits. An on-the-water creel survey from the spring of 2009 lends solid support for daily crappie limits, with 80 percent of the anglers favoring a daily bag restriction.
The 38 new reservoirs are Acton (Butler and Preble counties), Atwood (Carroll and Tuscarawas counties), Berlin (Stark, Mahoning and Portage counties), Buckeye (Fairfield, Licking and Perry counties), C.J. Brown (Clark County), Clear Fork (Morrow and Richland counties), Clendening (Harrison County), Dillon (Muskingum County), East Fork (Clermont County), Ferguson (Allen County), Grand Lake St. Marys (Auglaize and Mercer counties), Griggs (Franklin County), Hargus (Pickaway County), Hoover (Delaware and Franklin counties), Indian (Logan County), Kiser (Champaign County), Knox (Knox County), Loramie (Auglaize and Shelby counties), Milton (Mahoning County), Leesville (Carroll County), Madison (Madison County), Mosquito (Trumbull County), Nimisila (Summit County), O’Shaughnessy (Delaware County), Portage Lakes: East, Long, North, Turkeyfoot and West (Summit County), Paint Creek (Highland and Ross counties), Piedmont (Belmont, Guernsey and Harrison counties), Pleasant Hill (Ashland and Richland counties), Rocky Fork (Highland County), Rush Creek (Fairfield and Perry counties), Salt Fork (Guernsey County), Springfield (Summit County), Veterans Memorial (Hancock County) and West Branch (Portage County).

« Back to News